Client Testimonials & College Acceptance List

Over these last 4 years, Colleen has played an integral role in helping me with the college application and decision process. She has given such great advice that has shaped my journey in figuring out how I would like to proceed with my life, be it in higher education or in potential careers. Your senior year can be quite stressful as you navigate through your last year of high school while simultaneously trying to manage a secure future ahead. Fortunately, Colleen was there every step of the way during this time, to make sure the process was a streamlined one. Regardless of the amount of students she was trying to help, Colleen always made sure that I had enough time to ask her questions about where I should apply or what I could do with my education, and was able to guide me through the application process with such ease, either in the workshops she put on or through private sessions, that I am so greatly appreciative for. If it weren’t for her, I don’t think I would have been able to craft such a strong case for myself to present to the colleges I applied to. Thank you Colleen.

Sameer G August 20, 2019

My name is Daniel Wankmuller and I worked with Colleen Lamon my 2017 junior year and 2018 senior year of high school. Colleen’s website was a great help especially in selecting colleges to put on my college list. I was able to keep important dates on her website along with learning about college demographics. Colleen made it her priority to help me with my essays and PIQs and with professional peer edits I was able to write strong college admission essays. Working with Colleen made the entire college process a lot less stressful and hectic and i was able to get into the college of my choice UC Davis. You will always be informed of important deadlines and college and scholarship opportunities.

Daniel Wankmuller, UCDavis Class of 2023 August 20, 2019

Beginning college application season, I felt overwhelmed with everything that I had to do in such a short amount of time. But Colleen helped me to pace myself and write all the essays required for applications and eased my stress. She also informed me of certain things that are a necessity for applying to college that I’d had no knowledge of before. Colleen gave me confidence in my college apps that I would not have had otherwise.

Madison Walker,Cal Poly Class of 2023 August 20, 2019

Colleen’s help in the college admissions process kept me from going insane during my senior year. She truly cares about helping all of her students with her one on one meetings, round table reviews, and consistent tweaking of essays. But more specifically to me, being a student who hadn’t toured many colleges and was the first child in my family headed to college, she provided insight on the colleges I really didn’t want to go to even if I liked them online, helped get me in contact with resources to improve my test scores and set deadlines which kept me from procrastinating. With Colleen’s help, I was accepted at all the colleges I was interested in, including UC Berkeley, UC Santa Barbara and UC Davis. Ultimately I decided to attend Cal Poly SLO with a major in biology because it was the best fit for me as a student. I wouldn’t be here without her and all her expertise. Thank you Colleen!

David Geitner, Cal Poly Class of ’23 August 20, 2019

I began working with Colleen in my sophomore year of high school. Back then, I knew very little about college and the application process. Fortunately, Colleen and her years of experience kept me on track to get into my dream colleges, which include Scripps College, UC Berkeley, and UCLA. She helped me do everything from plan my high school schedule and getting prepared for college interviews, to researching colleges and creating a college list on her website. Colleen gave me more than just her unmatched expertise; she provided access to her vast array of connections, ranging from SAT and ACT tutors to actual admission officers to read over personal statement drafts. Not to mention, during the stressful application season, Colleen hosted extremely helpful workshops in which students could work on applications in the presence of Colleen’s expertise, snacks, and playful dogs. Even after the application process was over, Colleen was a big help. She answered every question I had in order to guide me toward choosing the right college. Colleen is not just a wonderful college counselor and mentor, but also a great friend. I am very thankful to have worked with her for the past three years.

Priya Kareti, Attending Scripps College, Class of 2021 August 31, 2017

I met Colleen with Colleen’s Creative Consulting a few weeks into my senior year, as I was preparing to apply to college.  I was incredibly grateful that Colleen found a way to  work with me, even though her schedule was full. Applying to college was more intense and overwhelming than I thought it would be. I had a lot of misinformation. Colleen spent hours, helping me get on track. She helped me select schools that were a good fit for my personality and my major, gave endless suggestions for writing essays, and helped keep me within all of the necessary time frames for applications.  She was available by phone or text or in person, when I needed questions answered or suggestions. The group workshops were both informative and fun. It was great to be able to walk through the whole process with other students and and develop camaraderie with them.   I am not sure how I would’ve gotten through the application process, if I hadn’t had Colleen’s support and knowledge guiding me.  She truly cares for the students she works with and that also helped me. I knew I could depend on her and she would guide me in the right direction. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Colleen and her service to anyone. It makes a very stressful experience, more manageable. She is amazing and you will love her.

Zach Lewis, San Diego State University, Class of 2021 July 14, 2017

Going into my Junior year of high school, I didn’t really give much thought to how (or when) I should start my preparations for applying to college. Lucky for me, a close friend recommended I make an appointment with Colleen. From our first meeting Colleen blew me away. She had unparalleled knowledge of the application process, years of practice, and as well as many helpful connections with tutors and alumni. Not to mention the fact that she could make you laugh even during the most tedious of times, or the delicious snacks she always provided. Before Colleen, I had no idea what I was doing. Now, I’ve got my life set on the path of my dreams! I highly recommend Colleen’s assistance when applying to college, it’s a must for any high school student.

Zoe Hearn, UCLA Class of 2021 July 14, 2017

Working with Colleen during my junior and senior year made the college application process easy and manageable. With neither of my parent’s attending college, we had no idea how the college application process worked. Colleen walked us through it step by step and made the process much more manageable. Colleen made sure I never missed a due date and had answers to all of the questions I had in regards to the application process and about specific colleges. With Colleens’ vast knowledge of the application process and of many different colleges, I never felt like I was lost of confused. Colleen makes the application process much less stressful and manageable which made my senior year much more enjoyable. Colleen also made the essay writing process much easier. With her expertise in the area, the essays I wrote were much more in depth and showed who I was as a person and a student much more effectively. Overall, I cannot think of a better advisor to walk someone through the college application process.

Colton Applegarth, University of Hawaii at Manoa Class of 2020 August 11, 2016

Working with Colleen made one of the most potentially difficult processes in my life a much easier task to take on. Going into junior year, I had a basic knowledge of what needed to be done to be accepted into a college, but the task was still daunting. Without her, it would have been very likely for me to forget certain due dates and deadlines. To add on to that, if I ever had any questions pop up during this process that I didn’t know how to handle, Colleen was always there to help out very quickly. A prime example of this was when I had a mandatory personal interview with an Ivy League college professor, and Colleen was well prepared to help me out and provided me with a spreadsheet on how to act and common questions that are brought up.  All of the work I ended up doing on college applications was my own, but Colleen would help guide me towards what colleges were looking for in essays and other tasks that really gave me a boost in my application. Looking back, now that I will be heading into my first year of college next Fall, Colleen has extensive knowledge of all things college related that made that portion of my life much more organized and enjoyable. Thank you so much for all your hard work you put into helping me out!

Thanks again for everything!

Max Bechtel – California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo, College of Architecture 2020 August 4, 2016

The process of finding a college that was the right fit for me was overwhelming. Colleen knew all the steps I needed to take to insure my success. Without her help I wouldn’t have the wonderful opportunity I have and I wouldn’t have known about Dominican University

Kristina Mackensen, Class of 2020, Nursing Program at Dominican university August 3, 2016

Working with Colleen has by far been the best decision I have ever made. Not only because she helped me throughout the college process, but also because she got to know me on a personal level and wanted to know the way I work in order to get me into a college that would suit me. Colleen was extremely helpful and I am very thankful I met her. She would always keep me on track and if I ever did fall behind, I would get a text to get working again. Because of her, I am going to be attending UC Berkeley, a school that I would have never thought of getting accepted in or even applying to. She made the college process very simple for me and divided it into deadlines so I would never feel that I had a lot to do, and if I ever did feel stressed, all I had to do was give her a call or send her a text. I can say that Colleen has been my supporting factor through my college process, and I can definitely say that I could not have done it without her. Colleen is not just my college counselor, she is also my very good friend that has been a really big support.

Dalminder Dosanjh, Class of 2020, UC Berkeley August 3, 2016

Throughout the college application process, Colleen made everything so much easier and less stressful in the long run. She gave me the tools to find the right colleges to apply to, then helped me revise the list, and was a great mediator between me and my parents the entire time. I was able to do everything at my own pace, and it was really comforting to have someone looking over my apps to make sure I didn’t make a massive slip-up. It was great working with Colleen, and I’m so happy to now be attending a fantastic college!

Roman LeFebure, University of Virginia July 28, 2016

Working with Colleen has been one of my favorite high school experiences, because she guided me through the most difficult and stressful part: Getting into college. She really takes her time to get to know all her students and was more than just a counselor to me. Colleen was and always will be my mentor and friend. I can’t thank her enough for helping my achievements and personality shine on applications, and the countless nights I’ve spent in her home adding last minute touches to applications and essays. I couldn’t have gotten through the college application process without her, I love you Colleen!

Vrinda Gupta Class of 2019, UC Davis September 3, 2015

Well for one, I would’ve never thought I would be at UofA a year ago today. This has DEFINTELY been the best decision I’ve ever made and if it wasn’t for you I wouldn’t have considered it.

But seriously thank you for everything Colleen!

Kael Williams Class of 2019, University of Arizona August 29, 2015

Colleen is the perfect person to have for assistance and guidance when applying to college.  She kept me on track throughout the process and made sure that all of my deadlines were met with plenty of time to spare.  With her help, I was accepted to many top schools including: UC Berkeley, University of Pennsylvania, Duke University, and MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology).  Colleen aided me in making the most important decision of which college I would ultimately attend; I chose to attend MIT.  With her guidance, I felt I had a complete understanding of each university that I was deciding between, and I was able to make the decision that was best for me.  As I now head off for college, I feel that I am prepared for the adventure that awaits me thanks to the help of my family and Colleen.

Lauren Kroeger Class of 2019, Massachusetts Institute of Technology August 29, 2015

Working with Colleen was a very helpful experience. Not only did she help with the application process, but she also helped pick which schools I should apply to. This process was very helpful because it introduced me to many new schools that were great fits for me that I was previously unfamiliar with. In fact, at that point Colleen introduced me to St. Mary’s College of California, which eventually I ended up picking and will be attending as of next fall.  Colleen was very knowledgeable with all aspects of college admissions and how to properly fill out both applications and financial aid forms.

Brandon Adams Class of 2018 March 27, 2015

Working with Colleen helped make applying for college way less stressful! She helped me to stay organized, focused and honestly has all the information you could ever ask for. With her help I always knew when things were due and felt confident in my applications after I turned them in. I’m glad I worked with Colleen and cannot thank her enough.

Kristen Kent Class of 2018 September 12, 2014

Colleen Lamon is a lifesaver!  She helped guide me in the right direction while I was pursuing Graduate school in the area of Speech, Language and Pathology.  Her knowledge in the application process and her organization skills are immense.  I would highly recommend her as your college consultant.

Jordan Daddow Class of 2011, California State University, Chico July 28, 2014

Colleen is by far the kindest, most understanding, and helpful
person I have ever met.  She picked me up in the beginning of my senior year and helped me with all of my college applications,
prepping for my SAT and ACT, and making sure I correctly filled out my FAFSA to receive financial aid.  I owe all of my success and the fact that I am a UCSB student to her.  She keeps in contact with us after we leave and is always there to help us when we are down.  I love her tons!

Bailey Linden Class of 2016, University of California, Santa Barbara July 28, 2014

I honestly have no clue what direction I would be heading in right now if it weren’t for Colleen!  She has been very supportive and helped me get where I’m going: Seattle Pacific University.  I didn’t think I had the grades or the confidence to get into a good school but with Colleen’s help I was able to find the right college!  I am so excited for the future now, and it’s all thanks to Colleen!

Josh Krehe Seattle Pacific University July 28, 2014

Colleen Lamon is one of the sweetest people I have ever met. She would do anything for her kids as well as the students she helps mentor to college.  I wouldn’t  be attending Sonoma
State if it wasn’t for Colleen, as well as the help from her husband Steve.  They literally open up their house to you and provide you with all the information about the road to college that you need.  I am so incredibly thankful for Colleen!

Audrey Neville Class of 2016 Sonoma State University July 28, 2014

I am the first person in my family to go straight to college from high school and my senior year I really had no idea what I needed to do for college.  Colleen helped me step by step through the process.  Thanks to her I am now going to Arizona State University and I can’t thank her enough!”

Logan Morace Class of 2017, Arizona State University July 28, 2014

Navigating the college application process can be overwhelming, but Colleen’s expertise makes everything a breeze to understand.  She holds an enormous amount of wisdom that comes from experience and patience, and doesn’t hesitate to go the extra mile (coming all the way to Berkeley!) for her students.  I could not be more grateful for her help and support—not only is she the best counselor, but she’s also like a personal cheer squad always there to cheer you on!

Fanny Liu Class of 2017, Wellesley College July 28, 2014

Words cannot express the gratitude in my heart that Colleen has been a part of my life to help me through the college application season. I honestly do not know what my life would look right now if I had not started working with her. She found the perfect college fit for me and I highly doubt there is anyone in this world who is as excited to go to college as I am!

Drew Tollenaar Class of 2018, Texas Christian University July 28, 2014

My son is attending the university of his dreams because of Colleen. Sure, he took the right classes and got the right grades, but that’s only the start! I had no idea. The college application process is incredibly complex, competitive and driven by unrelenting deadlines. It’s over a year-long process that Colleen has mapped out with a level of support and organization that is surpassed by none.  Colleen held SAT/ACT prep workshops, matched personal strengths & interests with the best college choices, searched scholarships and grants, and sat side-by-side my son to complete every single aspect of the FASFA and the university application.  Colleen’s services were the best investment we ever could have made.  Go ASU Sun Devils! We love you, Colleen!

Kathleen Hansen Parent July 28, 2014

Working with Colleen is and was an amazing experience. She starts off by really getting to know you, she is interested in your likes and dislikes. She carefully pieces together what she knows about you to figure out the perfect college that will fit your personality. Due to the one on one attention Colleen provided, I was more than happy with the results I received. Colleen is someone I value very much, and I know that anyone who chooses to work with her will not be disappointed whatsoever.

Alisha Chadha Class of 2018, Cal Poly July 28, 2014

Working with Colleen was great! She kept me on track with where I needed to be and informed me of great opportunities I hadn’t heard of. She advised me to push myself and keep my options open and I’m so grateful for her!

Addison Alley Class of 2018 July 28, 2014

College Acceptance List

University of California

UC Berkeley
UC Davis
UC Irvine
UC Los Angeles
UC Riverside
UC San Diego
UC Santa Barbara
UC Santa Cruz

California State University

Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
CSU Channel Islands
CSU Chico
CSU Fresno
CSU Long Beach
CSU Monterey Bay
Humboldt State University
CSU Sacramento
CSU San Diego
CSU San Francisco
CSU San Jose
Sonoma State University

Private Colleges in California

AMDA College and Conservatory of the Performing Arts
Chapman University
Claremont McKenna College
Loyola Marymount University
Mills College
Scripps College
St. Mary’s College of California
Pomona College
Pepperdine University
Point Loma University
University of the Pacific
University of Redlands
University of San Diego
University of San Francisco
University of Southern California
Woodbury University

Private & Out-of-State Colleges and Universities

Amherst College
Arizona State University
University of Arizona
Baylor University
Boston University
Brown University
Bryn Mawr College
Case Western Reserve University
Colorado School of Mines
Clark University
Clemson University
College of Charleston
Colombia College Chicago
Creighton University
Duke University
Eckerd College
Elon University
Emerson College
George Washington University
Gettysburg College
Gonzaga University
Goucher College
Hawaii Pacific University
University of Hawaii, Manoa
Kansas State University
Lewis and Clark College
Linfield College
University of Miami
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
University of Michigan
University of Nevada,Reno
Northeastern University
University of Oklahoma
Oregon State University
University of Oregon
Pacific University, Oregon
University of Pennsylvania
Portland State University
University of Portland
University of Puget Sound
Purdue University
Rensselaer Polytechnic University
Scripps College
Seattle Pacific University
Southern Methodist University
Syracuse University
Texas Christian University
Tufts University
University of Virginia
University of Washington
Washington and Lee University
Wake Forest University
Wellesley College
Willamette University
College of William and Mary
Worcester Polytechnic Institute